Baby College

I was listening to Act One of “This American Life” (“Harlem Renaissance”) on my way to yoga Sunday morning.  The story was so compelling that I considered sitting in my car in the parking lot and missing class to hear the ending… but I didn’t and that ended up being a good thing since I got into both Marichyasana D as well as an awesome headstand for the first time (woot!).  Anyway, I finished the story tonight and was just in tears,

1) because of the sheer power of words

2) because our society has failed somewhere along the way so much that corporal punishment is still considered a viable discipline option

3) because of the difference these people are making

4) because I’m supposedly on the verge of my first period in 28 months

I’m so excited to start my volunteer training with Family Connections this week.  I’ve been missing that activism/involvement aspect of my life since we moved to Austin.  At the risk of sounding trite, I really hope I can make a difference, too.

About jordanbucher

My name is Jordan E. Bucher, formerly Jordan E. Pitcher, aka Wondertwin, Tadpole, Jojo. I live in Austin, TX by way of NYC for 7 years, London for a stop, Minnesota for 4 years, and Kansas for 18 very long years. I am married to Matt for nearly 4 years (smooching on and off for 7), and we have a son Henry Wallace who is almost 1. A crazy sheltie named Riley also lives with us. She herds sheep and vacuum cleaners in her sleep. I have worked in publishing for 10 years. I started as an editor and switched to being a publicist because I thought it would be cool to get paid for watching tv and reading magazines all day. I am proud to say I was a cupcake artist at Magnolia Bakery on my days off, way before the Saturday Night Live rap. I have met Carrie Bradshaw and Felicity, and once Kyle McLaughlin flirted with me. My interests include bran, sending inappropriate emails to unintended recipients, and naps (not mine, of course: Henry's). I like sushi and red meat. And red wine.
This entry was posted in day-to-day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Baby College

  1. des says:

    i was doing my evening jog..when i started listening to the podcast of this american life. My jog quickly became a slow attentive walk to wat i was hearing. It reminded me of an occurrance. I was on subway a few years ago across from me was 2 young kids. Age I would say 11 or so with wat appeared to be there dad next to them. For about 15mins I listen to some refreshing back and forth dialouge between these two young folks. I was so pleased with the mature content of there coversation it was new to my ears that i had to say to the dad on my way out “damn good job brother”. He must have realized his kids had my ears because his response to a me was a simple nod/smile and reading is key.

Leave a comment